FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS


 

ASSESSMENTS

Q. What is an Alcohol/Drug Assessment?

A. An assessment is an interview with a Certified Alcohol/Drug ADSAC Assessor, which determines a person’s degree of abuse or dependency on alcohol and or drugs. The Assessor makes recommendations and places requirements on the individual as to corrective actions the person will be required to complete. 
 

Q. I need an Assessment. What should I do?

A. First, you must make an appointment for the assessment.  The appointment will be a one-on-one individual appointment for each person.  The assessment will take approximately 1½ -2 hours.  During this time you will be required to fill out information and answer a series of questions.  Next, you will meet with a State Certified Assessor and discuss your past and or present arrest.  The Assessor will then provide you with a list of referrals and recommendations that you will be required to complete.

*Important:  please bring your ticket and or arrest report, fax information, and any other documentation you might have questions about to the scheduled assessment.
 

Q. How do I schedule an assessment?

A. Assessments are scheduled by appointment only.  Please call (918) 688-5863.
 

Q. Are assessments offered at all DUI School of Oklahoma locations?

A. Yes.
 

Q. Can I schedule an assessment in the evening?

A. Yes! Appointments are available Monday through Friday from 9:00am - 8:00pm.
 

Q. How long will it take to complete an assessment?

A. Your assessment will take approximately 1½ - 2 hours.
 

Q. After I complete the assessment, how long is the assessment valid?

A. According to the Department of Mental Health Substance Abuse Rules and Regulations, you must start at least one of the recommendations listed from your assessment within six months of completing the assessment, or it will not be valid.  You will then be required to retake the assessment and pay the fee again.
 

Q. What form of payment do you take?

A. Cash, Money Order, and we now accept all major credit cards - Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover & Apple Pay.
 


CLASSES 

Q. Are classes offered in Downtown, Owasso and Skiatook?

A. Class are only offered at Downtown Tulsa and Owasso locations. Please view our COURSE SCHEDULE
 

Q. Are ADSAC Classes the same as DUI Classes?

A. Yes, both are the same.
 


DRIVER'S LICENSE

Q. What is the difference between a Drivers Licence suspension and a Drivers Licence revocation?

A. Both are a formal action by the Department of Public Safety whereby a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle on public roads are withdrawn. 
 

Q. Why was my Drivers License suspended?

A. Under Oklahoma Law, whenever the records of the Department of Public Safety reflect a conviction of a person for a DUI-alcohol or drugs, DWI-alcohol or drugs, APC, or an alcohol/drug related charge, the driving privileges of that individual are temporarily suspended.
 

Q. When my Drivers License has been temporarily suspended, do I have to surrender it to the Department of Public Safety?

A. Yes.
 

Q. Can I drive while my Drivers License is suspended? 

A. Possibly. You must apply with the Department of Public Safety and be approved for a Hardship Permit / Modified License. For more information visit www.dps.state.ok.us.
 

Q. What is a Hardship Permit?

A. A Hardship Permit is issued when your normal drivers license has been revoked or suspended.  It allows you to drive, but only under certain circumstances and for approved reasons.  You must submit a request and be approved by the Department of Public Safety. Call DPS at (918) 632-7700 for more information.
 

Q. How do I get my Drivers License reinstated after it has been suspended?

A. 
(1) You must schedule an appointment with an ADSAC Assessor certified by the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse to take a Drug/Alcohol Assessment.  Appointment time approximately 1½ - 2 hours.

(2) At the end of your assessment you will receive recommendations (education/group/treatment) that you will need to complete.

(3) After you complete the (ADSAC) assessment recommendations, you will receive a Certificate of Completion from your Assessor.  Your Certificate of Completion will have a red stamp and seal on it.

(4) You must complete all of your court/legal requirements. Please see your court documents.

(5) You must wait the required probation period or term (usually six months or more) that your driving privileges have been suspended. Contact DPS at (918) 632-7700 for more information.

(6) After you have completed the above steps 1-5, you must pay a reinstatement fee to the Department of Public Safety to get your drivers license reinstated. (In some cases, you may be required to drive with a restricted license and have an Ignition Interlock Device installed on your vehicle for an additional period of time.)  

*Contact the Department of Public Safety to determine exactly what the requirements and fees are for you.
 

Q. Where do I go to get my Drivers License reinstated?

A. Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS)
     14002 E 21st Street Ste. A, Lower Level
     Tulsa, Oklahoma 74145
     (918) 632-7700
     www.dps.state.ok.us  
 

Q. What do I need to take to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) when I am ready to reinstate my Drivers License?

A. Under Oklahoma Law, whenever the records of the Department of Public Safety reflect a conviction of a person for a DUI-alcohol or drugs, DWI-alcohol or drugs, APC, or an alcohol/drug related charge, the driving privileges of that individual are temporarily suspended.
 

Q. When my Drivers License has been temporarily suspended, do I have to surrender it to the Department of Public Safety?

A. 
(1)  The Completion Certificate from your assessment.  (It will have a red stamp and seal on it)
(2) Your drivers license reinstatement fee.  (To be determined by DPS)   
(3) Insurance Verification
(4) Proof of U.S. citizenship.
 

Q. I was convicted of drug possession. Why was my license revoked when I wasn't driving?

A. State law requires that any misdemeanor or felony conviction for drug possession will result in the revocation of the persons driving privilege. 
 

Q. I received a ticket for driving while my license was suspended. How will this affect my current Drivers License suspension/revocation?

A. Your drivers license could be suspended an additional three to four months. 
 

Q. I live in Oklahoma, but received a DUI in another state. Will I lose my Oklahoma Drivers License?

A. Yes.  Call the Owasso or Skiatook DUI School & Assessments for more information at (918) 688-5863.
 

Q. I received a ticket in another state. Will that affect my Oklahoma Drivers License?

A. Possibly. Any traffic violation in another state will go on your Oklahoma driving record. It will be treated just the same as if the violation had occurred in Oklahoma.
 

Q. I was stopped for driving under the influence, and the Police Officer requested I take a Breathalyzer Test. I refused to take the test and he served me with an Officer's Affidavit and Notice of Revocation/Disqualification. Can I request a hearing to challenge the suspension of my drivers license? 

A. Yes.  You have 15 days from the date your ticket was issued to make a written request for a hearing to challenge the suspension of your driver's license.
 

Q. Will I have to get an interlock device (breathalyzer) in my car?

A. Possibly.  Call the Owasso or Skiatook DUI School & Assessments at (918) 688-5863 or DPS (918) 632-7700 for more information.  
 

Q. Is SR-22 required in Oklahoma?

A. No. However; if you have an SR-22 filing in another state and move to Oklahoma, you must maintain your SR-22 in the state where it is required. 
 


FEES 

Q. What is the fee for an Alcohol/Drug Assessment for License reinstatement?

A. If the arrest occurred prior to November 1, 2008 - State mandatory fee is $175.00. After November 1, 2008 - State mandatory fee is $160.00.
 

Q. How much are reinstatement fees?

A. The fees you will be required to pay for reinstatement are determined by Oklahoma Statute. The amount of the fees will vary depending on the type of suspension(s) and/or revocation(s). Further, these fees are cumulative. In other words, if you have more than one suspension or revocation, your total fees will be the sum of all the fees associated with each suspension and revocation.

*Contact DPS for more information:  (918) 632-7700.